Favourite Announcers and Announcing Teams | Golden Skate

Favourite Announcers and Announcing Teams

synteis

Medalist
Everyone has their favourite announcers (and their less than faves). Coming up to the Euros/4CC and of course the Olympics, what are your favourite announcers and why?

I like the B ESP guys myself (who I understand largely consist of Chris Howarth, Nicky Slater, Simon Reed). They have the right combination of interesting information and knowledge while also knowing when to shut up and just let you enjoy the programs.

I grew up on the CBC so I do have a lingering fondness for Kurt Browning's commentary. I do wish the CBC team didn't spend so much time relating everything to the Canadian teams (and choreographers) but of course that's their job.

In general though colour commentary isn't my favourite. Since I have some figure skating knowledge, I generally prefer the teams thats drive for teachable and technical know how.

asp11

Just a dedicated fan - not a skater
On the Ice
I appreciate the B ESP guys; they aren't overpowering. CBC is good too; love their technical knowledge.

Weathergal

Medalist
B.ESP guys (Nicky Slater, Simon Reed, Chris Howarth, and I would add Mark Hanretty). Also Ted Barton. Charlie White. Ben Agosto. John Coughlin. Tracy Wilson. Back in the day, Dick Button.

Sam-Skwantch

“I solemnly swear I’m up to no good”
Record Breaker
Country
United-States
1) Yulia
2) Ted
3) Johnny

I’m stating to miss Scott a little.

Dick Button and Peggy Fleming. Kurt Browning when he's being ultra-technical. And Sandra Bezic, though I don't know why.

I like how the B. ESP guys are clearly in awe of their favourites and don't even try to hide it. Think Yuna in the past and Yuzuru currently.

Tara and Johnny are irritating. And I'll never get over Tara calling clearly bad jumps as "textbook" or "best in the business".

mrrice

Record Breaker
They have never commentated together but, I really like Tonia Kwaitkowski and David Pelletier.......