Quad loop a "hip killer"? | Golden Skate

Quad loop a "hip killer"?

Arriba627

TWO-TIME WORLD CHAMPION 🔥
Record Breaker
Country
United-States
QUAD LOOP QUESTION -- Don't know if this is the right area to ask this. I have heard the quad loop called The Hip Killer. Is it true that it is extremely hard on a skater's hip(s)? Would that be the reason we don't see it in competition, or is it that it is extremely difficult (or both)?...Thx in advance if anyone can answer. I am not a skater but am extremely curious.

I am far from an expert in the stresses and strains that figure skaters endure. But training the triple loop is blamed as a culprit in many career ending hip injuries. Tara Lipinski, who relied on a triple loop/triple loop combo, is a prominent case. Skaters who have long careers quite often have to drop the triple loop from their repertoires in the latter part of their careers (Michelle Kwan, Yuna Kim).

I would imagine that a skater who did a hundred repetitions of a quad loop in practice over a couple of seasons might find his career cut short.

This fear, however, has never stopped athletes from challenging themselves by going for the hardest tricks. I think the real reason that we have not seen a quad loop is that it is really hard. Probably harder than the toe-pick assisted jumps like the quad Lutz and the quad flip. Yuzuru Hanyu will probably present a quad loop next season to keep pace with Boyang Jin and Shoma Uno.

Last edited:

HanDomi

Record Breaker
it may be, all the attempts I saw in practices by some skaters it all looked very forced, but actually Hanyu's quad loop looks very natural and easy, so I guess it depends on technique a lot. Hanyu has very pure technique on it so he may get away without hip problems

mrrice

Record Breaker