Comments from Judges? | Golden Skate

Comments from Judges?

ivy

On the Ice
I'm still catching up on the GPF, but per usual there is consternation about the the scores. Especially in the PCS. My background is in dressage (equestrian) and the scoring there is similar in someways - each move is given a numeric score and then there are composite scores based on the overall quality of the horse and rider. After that the judge writes some comments - 3 or 4 sentences - to explain the scores. Coming up through the levels (never got too high), I valued the comments as good constructive criticism.

Can we expect ISU judges to do the same? Would it help?

dorispulaski

Wicked Yankee Girl
Country
United-States
I believe the skaters do get comments, but unless the skaters themselves talk about them, they are not publicized. At least, that's my memory of how it goes. Certainly, at national events. I'm less sure about how this goes internationally.

Tonichelle

Idita-Rock-n-Roll
Record Breaker
I believe the skaters do get comments, but unless the skaters themselves talk about them, they are not publicized. At least, that's my memory of how it goes. Certainly, at national events. I'm less sure about how this goes internationally.

it's pretty much how you say. normally judges only give notes if either the federation or coach asks for them, though.

ivy

On the Ice
Thanks for the info! I think that's too bad they don't get published. Anything that shines more light into the judging seems to the good.

gkelly

Record Breaker
There are no official comments as part of the judging. Nothing written down in sentences -- nothing to publish.

Judges just have time to award the component scores and confirm their GOEs as soon as the program is over, and then it's time for the next competitor.

Skaters coming up through the lower levels do get written comments on their skating tests. That might be more comparable to the comments you got coming up through the levels in dressage.