Buying second-hand Edea pianos? | Golden Skate

Buying second-hand Edea pianos?

AlessandraSkates

Spectator
Hello everyone! I have a question about buying figure skates. Currently, I'm 24 years old, 5 feet 5 inches tall (166cm), and weigh between 121-132 lbs (55-60 kg). I'm a beginner figure skater, using Edea Chorus skates, which seem suitable for my weight and skill level. They're still relatively new, so I don't need to replace them. However, I stumbled upon what seems like a great deal on Facebook – brand new Edea Pianos with John Wilson Gold Seal Revolution blades. The skates have only been used for a week by someone who suffered an injury and hasn't skated for two years. The combo is priced at 350 euros, while a new set would typically cost around 1300 euros.
I've been fitted for my current skates, and the Pianos are the same size, although I'm aware that sizing can vary between models. I've heard that the Pianos are tighter, and I feel like my Chorus skates are a bit on the roomy side. Considering all this, would it be a good idea to buy the Pianos and keep them for when my Chorus skates wear out, giving me the opportunity to upgrade at a great price?

Last edited:

Ic3Rabbit

Former Elite, now Pro. ⛸️
Record Breaker
Country
Olympics
No. These skates and blades are way too advanced for you and you risk injury. Don't do it.

Last edited:

AlessandraSkates

Spectator
Only buy the Pianos if you (a) want to be laughed at and (b) fancy losing all your hard-gained current skating skills. Seriously, just pass.
No. These skates and blades are way too advanced for you and you risk injury. Don't do it.
No. They are too stiff for your level, and more importantly, Gold Seals are very advanced blades and you would hate life if you tried to skate in this setup.