How will history view Sasha? | Golden Skate

How will history view Sasha?

Ogre Mage

On the Ice
I was reading this article over at the USFSA web site and noticed this quote:

Cohen is one of the most elegant and lyrical skaters to ever lace up a pair of skates, but her inability to win “the big one” has frustrated fans, coaches, but most importantly, herself. Her future plans remain in doubt, and she ruminated on how people might remember her.

“Hopefully … a good impact,” she said, tearing up on the press conference podium. “Of course, I know I won't be remembered for winning a lot of championships but hopefully more than that, for the skating. I have learned it's about the journey, not about the destination, to enjoy each day. I'm still learning to be able to give it my all to get lost in the moment. I still haven't found that automatic robot to be able to pump up for performances. That's something I'm still searching for.”

Which got me thinking, if Sasha retires now, how WILL her skating be viewed 4 or 8 years from now? Her career has been one of the most interesting, perplexing and controversial in skating.

She made a breathtaking debut on the scene in 2000, already fully formed artistically but lacking in other areas. The American media raved about her and predicted she would be the next big ladies skating star. For all her grace on the ice, however, her programs usually had mistakes. Strangely, there was no pattern to them. Sometimes it would be one move, sometimes another at the beginning, middle or end of the program.