ISU figure skating streams might be switched to pay-per-view platform | Page 5 | Golden Skate

ISU figure skating streams might be switched to pay-per-view platform

alexocfp

Record Breaker
Country
United-States
Of course you do realise that this imaginary rich philanthropist setting up these wonderful competitions may not agree with you - or me for that matter :laugh: - as to what would bring in the punters? They might love the Zagitova rule and axels. And hate quadmeisters, or ice dance, or teenage artistic emoting, or whatever.
It’s me and @DoubleBass philanthropist so he doesn’t love the Zagitova rule.

And I can confirm the philanthropist loves quads and can’t wait for the 5T one day. The philanthropist can hate ice dance and men‘s skating and even pairs. Since I don’t follow those anyway, and we can take the money we save from those disciplines and give more to the ladies.

I’m an expert in spending other people‘s money. Haha

mrrice

Record Breaker
And then they wonder why figure skating is declining in popularity...
I've been saying this for years now. If I have a difficult time finding an event, I can promise you, my friends and casual fans will have a VERY difficult time. To have to jump through hoops to watch an event is something we will do. However, I don't think casual fans will do the same. If I can watch the Super Bowl, or World Cup by simply picking up my remote, there's no way I'm signing up for some service I know nothing about.

Last edited:

alexocfp

Record Breaker
Country
United-States
I've been saying this for years now. If I have a difficult time finding an event, I can promise you, my friends and casual will have a VERY difficult time. To have to jump through hoops to watch an event is something we will do. However, I don't think casual fans will do the same. If I can watch the Super Bowl, or World Cup by simply picking up my remote, there's no way I'm signing up for some service I know nothing about.