Radius of Hollow | Golden Skate

Radius of Hollow

jensencaitlinb

Rinkside
What radius of hollow do you like for adult figure skating? I'm just starting waltz jump, crossovers, and edge work. I know it's somewhat personal preference, but curious to hear what you all like :)

Ic3Rabbit

Former Elite, now Pro. ⛸️
Record Breaker
Country
Olympics
What radius of hollow do you like for adult figure skating? I'm just starting waltz jump, crossovers, and edge work. I know it's somewhat personal preference, but curious to hear what you all like :)

FWIW- I'm a pro and wear a Pattern 99. The radius of hollow is 7/16" (which is true of most blades).

Are you sure you aren't asking about rocker size instead?

figureskaterdude

Rinkside
FWIW- I'm a pro and wear a Pattern 99. The radius of hollow is 7/16" (which is true of most blades).

Are you sure you aren't asking about rocker size instead?

I believe they are asking about what people get their blades sharpened at?

I've always skated on 7/16". Feels best to me. Many adults at my rink started at 1/2" and then moved to 7/16" I tried 3/8", but it was a bit to much grip into the ice for me personally. Felt like I was getting stuck on some of the deeper edges.

tstop4me

Final Flight
Country
United-States
I prefer it on the deep side, 3/8". For your maneuvers, common radius of hollow is 7/16" or 1/2". Depends a lot on personal preference, your weight, blade thickness, and how hard the ice is (which can vary a lot from day to day at the same rink, but some rinks "on average" have harder ice than others). Also, depends how well calibrated the dressing stone is and how carefully the skate tech dresses the wheel: at one shop, I asked for for 7/16", but actually got 9/16" [I have a depth of hollow gauge to check] ... I dropped him once I got a referral to someone better.

binky

Rinkside
on very hard ice which radius might help with forward to backward three turns?
thanks for any advice!

singerskates

On the Ice