Friends Self-Teaching | Golden Skate

Friends Self-Teaching

Elchee

Spectator
I'd like to preface this by saying that I have no experience figure skating, about CanSkate level 3 with the help of a friend who plays hockey. I've been skating with my friends after school at least once week over the last winter season.

Two of my friends have been really interested in figure skating have been teaching themselves through videos tutorials. From the research I've done online, self teaching ups the chances of injury and leads to incorrect technique. I don't think either has plans of competing, but I don't want them to become unable to continue skating due to bad technique. Some of the things they have taught themselves: waltz jump, toe loop, salchow, two foot spin, and hydroblade.

I don't want them to injure themselves, but I don't want to ruin their fun either. Is there anything that I can do?

Ic3Rabbit

Former Elite, now Pro. ⛸️
Record Breaker
Country
Olympics
I'd like to preface this by saying that I have no experience figure skating, about CanSkate level 3 with the help of a friend who plays hockey. I've been skating with my friends after school at least once week over the last winter season.

Two of my friends have been really interested in figure skating have been teaching themselves through videos tutorials. From the research I've done online, self teaching ups the chances of injury and leads to incorrect technique. I don't think either has plans of competing, but I don't want them to become unable to continue skating due to bad technique. Some of the things they have taught themselves: waltz jump, toe loop, salchow, two foot spin, and hydroblade.

I don't want them to injure themselves, but I don't want to ruin their fun either. Is there anything that I can do?
Yes, tell them to get a coach that isn't a video. Proper learn to skate coach, you need to get one too. A hockey player isn't going to be able to teach you the things you need to know for figure skating.