Axel Off Ice Drills | Golden Skate

Axel Off Ice Drills

thesinglelutz

Spectator
Hi All,

I’ve been working on axel on and off for about 3-4 years and have made it a goal with my coach to try and land it cleanly by the end of the year. I can land it 1/2-1/4 turn cheated and in backspin.

The issue I have is that I jump out and not up. I rotate late and on the way down. The two corrections I receive all the time are to “keep the right side back” and to “bend the leg” more going into it. I know the lack of bent knee on the entry is where the out problem with the jump is coming from 😅

However, I don’t think I’m properly understanding exactly what my coach is trying to have me do on the “keeping the right side back.” So, if I could please have someone maybe break down and explain in a different way, I think that might help.

I’d also appreciate any off ice drills to try and help correct the “right side back” technique. Time to put the work in to make this happen : )

Thank you in advance 😉

mskater93

Record Breaker
Not that I condone the style of jumping technique currently coming on the women's side from Russia, but the specific right side back can be seen well on the Eteri girls' Axels. They specifically lead with the jumping side with the free side back. Take a look at some YouTube of Scherbakova/Valieva/Trusova doing double/triple Axel to see what your coach is talking about on the extreme.

thesinglelutz

Spectator
Not that I condone the style of jumping technique currently coming on the women's side from Russia, but the specific right side back can be seen well on the Eteri girls' Axels. They specifically lead with the jumping side with the free side back. Take a look at some YouTube of Scherbakova/Valieva/Trusova doing double/triple Axel to see what your coach is talking about on the extreme.
Sorry for the late reply! But thank you for the video recommendation. I’m going to check it out now : )

tinna

Spectator