Blade Condition Advice | Golden Skate

Blade Condition Advice

LadyPanda

Spectator
Hello! I am wondering if anyone could advise me about the condition of my blades. These are attached to my beloved Risport RS4 (now the "Antares" model) figure skates; rarely worn, newly resurrected with an overpowering urge to find and commit to as much ice time as possible this year :) I was going to send them to a factory sharpening facility (there are none local here in Dublin, Ireland). I'd like to start figure skating again.

However I am now wondering if the blades should be replaced. They've been in storage in plastic blade guards in my bedroom for about 15 years (!!) I now know that this is unwise (ice soakers preferred!). Any advice much appreciated - thankyou!!

IMAGE 1 -

IMAGE 2 -

bostonskaterguy86

On the Ice
Country
United-States
Hello and welcome! :)

It's a bit hard to tell from photos of course, plus I'm not an expert - but they don't look too bad considering how long it's been! I can see some discoloration along the bottom of the blades, but if I'm right (perhaps a big *if*, haha), it doesn't look like rust to me. I think a sharpening would remove it.