Cannot get off toepick in spins | Golden Skate

Cannot get off toepick in spins

adhara

On the Ice
Country
Finland
I'm not spinning ON my toepick, it just drags. Is it realistic to fully keep the drag pick off the ice?

For background:
- I've been skating for 10 years, but didn't have coaches that actually knew how to coach spinning until like three years ago
- I can spin in really pretty positions but they are nowhere near as fast as some of my friends

I also have Risport Royal Prime boots and MK Gold Star Revs (I only got the Revs because the standard ones were going to be a 5 month wait and my old blades were FLAT). There is about 1-2 mm of space between the from to the blade and the front of the boot. Also wondering if moving this could help???

Ic3Rabbit

Former Elite, now Pro. ⛸️
Record Breaker
Country
Olympics
I'm not spinning ON my toepick, it just drags. Is it realistic to fully keep the drag pick off the ice?

For background:
- I've been skating for 10 years, but didn't have coaches that actually knew how to coach spinning until like three years ago
- I can spin in really pretty positions but they are nowhere near as fast as some of my friends

I also have Risport Royal Prime boots and MK Gold Star Revs (I only got the Revs because the standard ones were going to be a 5 month wait and my old blades were FLAT). There is about 1-2 mm of space between the from to the blade and the front of the boot. Also wondering if moving this could help???
Gold Star blades have a higher heel lift which should help you with spins, but you may be having issues with mount or a whole ton of other things.
And yes, you need to get over your spin rocker, spinning should not including your drag pick dragging.

Diana Delafield

Frequent flyer
Medalist
Country
Canada

For background: