Coro ace lite vs standard? | Golden Skate

Coro ace lite vs standard?

amackillican

Spectator
Hi everyone,

I recently ordered a new pair of skates. I'm an adult beginner, 5"7 and 175lbs, and opted for Jackson Debuts with a Coronation Ace blade. I had to wait for the blade to be ordered, and went to pick them up yesterday. When I got home, I opened the box and realized that the fitter had mounted the wrong blades - Coronation Ace Lites. I've double checked my receipt, and I definitely did not pay for lites. My skate shop is pretty far from me, and I don't own a car which makes it even harder to get to. My question is, should I insist on getting the correct blades put on, or should I just deal with it? I know lites have not been recommended for adult beginners, but I'm just wondering what the general opinion is.

Thanks so much!

WednesdayMarch

Nicer When Fed
Medalist
Country
United-Kingdom
I'd be calling the shop and asking what has happened to the blades you actually ordered! There is a shortage of MK/John Wilson blades right now, but that's no excuse for just mounting the wrong blades, even if they are more expensive.

I wouldn't recommend the Lite versions to anyone, beginner or otherwise, unless they are pretty competent skater who actually requires lighter blades for a bona fide reason. As Aces aren't blades for higher doubles and above, lighter blades are usually a bad idea.

amackillican

Spectator
I'd be calling the shop and asking what has happened to the blades you actually ordered! There is a shortage of MK/John Wilson blades right now, but that's no excuse for just mounting the wrong blades, even if they are more expensive.

I wouldn't recommend the Lite versions to anyone, beginner or otherwise, unless they are pretty competent skater who actually requires lighter blades for a bona fide reason. As Aces aren't blades for higher doubles and above, lighter blades are usually a bad idea.
Thanks for your response!