First skates and fitter advice | Golden Skate

First skates and fitter advice

jbp182

Spectator
(Sorry, I accidentally deleted my last post while editing)

Hello everyone! I want to learn figure skating and I would appreciate some advice for my first skates! 😊

I am an adult beginner, female, 30yo, 173cm, 70kg.

My feet are egyptian type (but not as pronounced as 45°, more likeo 30), with normal arches. However, I have wide shins, more specifically, my achilles tendon is not very pronounced.

I only had 2 sessions on the ice so far, and with rentals made with plastic (they don't have my size in figure skates).

I know how to do snowplow stop, dip, 2-foot glide, forward and backward swizzles, pumps in a circle. I am still trying to learn 1-foot glides, backward skating, and slaloms (those outside edges are scary).

My plan is to continue learning and progressing. I plan to skate 1 to 2 times per week, ~2h each session (unless I find it hard to resist. I've been searching and watching ice skating informational videos almost non stop 😁).

As everyone else, I am afraid of overbooting and hindering my progress in the beginning. But at the same time, I don't want to have to buy new boots after just a few months, nor get injuries due to too soft boots.

Also, could someone advise me on some trusted fitters in Prague?
I already went to one, but I wanted to be sure they are recommended. Based on their stock, they advised me first on Jackson Artiste, and Jackson Elle, but they said that Elle's stiffness might hinder my progress in the beginning. Then when I mentioned my non pronounced achilles, they suggested Risport Electra Light because it has more space on the heel area, and according to them its stiffness is in between the Jacksons options they mentioned.
I read a few posts here where you advise against Artistes for adults, so I wanted to check if maybe I went to the right place to get fitted. Or maybe since I am a beginner, it is a valid option for me?