Robbing Peter to pay Paul | Golden Skate

Robbing Peter to pay Paul

CoyoteChris

Record Breaker
You folks are the smartest people I know....especially Mathman, Doris, Mrs. P, and others....I don't understand what the feral Govt is thinking its trying to do.

I cant get a handle on our economic policy...
Last year, our deficit was 680 billion Dollars ...this debt must be
financed by borrowing money..say selling T-bills, for instance. Thus, the National Debt keeps rising.

The Federal Reserve system, in an effort to keep interest rates low, has been spending $85 billion a month, or
about a trillion a year, buying T-bills and Mortgage bonds....I understand that Commercial banks are required to buy stock in the Federal
reserve banks, and I am no expert on the federal reserve system, but this seems to be like a shell game. I can't wrap my pea brain around
where this 85 billion is coming from and what happens when, say next week, its spending is stopped, driving interest rates up. And more importantly,
what happens to all those poor smucks, being banks or individuals, that bought T-bills and Mortgage bonds paying next to nothing when suddenly the
interest rates rise and their bills and bonds value drop like rocks....

I suppose there is some committee somewhere like the federal reserve board that believes that if you "jumpstart" the economy hard enough, taking
away the stimulas wont have the effect of driving interest rates up and killing the economy???????

What am I missing here...???? It seems there is no way this is gonna work long term unless everyone has a job and taxes are raised....

spikydurian

Medalist
You sound frustuated and worried, and rightly so. I am no economist but having lived through three recessions, I have come up with this simplistic philosophy which I live by ..... never spend more than you earn, money don't grow on trees, and real growth is always slow.