When your co-workers are too invasive | Golden Skate

When your co-workers are too invasive

Meoima

Match Penalty
I don't know how to say this but I am getting too much annoyed recently. I mean I am honestly annoyed by my co-workers.

They keep setting me up with another co-worker who is younger than me 2 years old.

You know that, I don't want to say bad things to any of them, but I stay single for the sake of my sanity. Even if the person they're trying to set me up is the best person around IT IS STILL A NO.

I am fed up with this Asian society when people think singles are freaks or helpless folks who need help. I am not good with children and will never be good with children (yes they are cute but taking care of them? How about a NO?)

Staying single is MY CHOICE. Not my misery!

But I am new to this office and I don't want to refuse them too rudely.

Last edited:

Violet Bliss

Record Breaker

That is exactly what you need to tell them nicely and firmly. Be straight forward (so you'd not need to find different things to say in the future) but polite, "I am happy being single and I like my life the way it is. If I change my mind, I will find someone myself at that time. So please do not match make for me." Then change the subject. Don't engage them with explanation.

Moi, I give outrageous come backs at unwelcome subjects to stop them in their track. :biggrin: In any case, never go along against your will. Don't start. Don't get into a role you don't like because it's hard to change later.

Meoima

Match Penalty
That is exactly what you need to tell them nicely and firmly. Be straight forward (so you'd not need to find different things to say in the future) but polite, "I am happy being single and I like my life the way it is. If I change my mind, I will find someone myself at that time. So please do not match make for me." Then change the subject. Don't engage them with explanation.