Synchronized skating trouble? | Golden Skate

Synchronized skating trouble?

qiao

Spectator
I am very new to synchronized skating, and all my other team members have been doing it for a while. I am picking up on how to do the steps connected, open and closed blocks and stuff like that but I really can't do a moving circle, or even a circle not moving. I keep falling, and its embarrassing and I am getting so annoyed! Does anyone who does synchronized skating have any tips on how to skate in a moving/or not circle?

loopy

Final Flight
Most of my daughter's team had private lessons with the synchro coaches to fix problem areas. Maybe even a 15-20 minute lesson really helps.

One thing to think about is smaller feet. My daughter only did singles and could really take up a lot of space. She had to learn to skate with her feet much neater in synchro.

So my suggestion is to see about getting a short lesson before or after practice.

emcnes

Rinkside
Hello qiao,
I have been doing Synchro for a long time, and since you’re just starting out I am coming to the conclusion that you probably aren’t doing a traveling circle your first year, unless you did singles for a while before-hand in which case that would be a different story.