Beginner blades advice Edea Rotation vs MK Flight | Golden Skate

Beginner blades advice Edea Rotation vs MK Flight

Lucie

Rinkside
Hi everyone! This is my first time posting but I’ve learned a lot from this forum already. I’m an adult starting LTS, I’ve skated recreationally in the past and come from a ballet and dance background, but I’m now inspired to learn properly and I’d like to eventually do Skate UK Star in both free and dance, but for now I just want to get the fundamentals solid.

Thanks to this forum I went and got properly fitted at a place that has good reviews. They fitted me in Edea Overture with the Edea Rotation blades (the Risport Electra Light were also a good fit but slightly less comfortable and the fitter advised as a beginner to go for the more comfortable boot). Before this I was wearing badly fitted Riedell 121s with Sapphire blades (bought years ago as a set) which were difficult to control and barely moved on the ice, my fitter said this was because they had been fitted too long to make up for them being too narrow for me, she said the Sapphire was a beginner blade but made no other comment than that. She didn’t talk to me about blades before mounting them and as a beginner I just trusted that the ones she picked were appropriate, after mounting them she mentioned that the Edea Rotation ‘came with’ the Edea Overture boot and so were included in the price, she also said that it has 1/2” ROH and she thought that would be appropriate for me.

There doesn’t seem to be a lot of info out there about the Edea Rotation blade, but the few mentions of it on this forum have all said that it’s not a good blade. I know I need a beginner blade to help with balance so I don’t mind that it has a flat profile and no real spin rocker, but I am concerned that it may impede my progress if there’s something about it that makes it not as good a blade as equivalent level blades such as the MK Flight or the Ultima MK IV.