Sample Skating Schedule?? | Golden Skate

Sample Skating Schedule??

sk8chis

On the Ice
Oh my god, I feel like once I started posting here now I just can’t stop lol. Mainly i’m just killing time while I wait for my new skates, so unfortunately i’ll be off ice for a few weeks *sigh* I keep side-eyeing my old boots wondering if I should risk a few more practice sessions on them even though I could host a funeral and after service for those blades.

Anyways, Like Polina Edmunds, i’m a college student who wants to compete eventually (as stated in my previous posts) so i’m trying to figure out a good skating schedule that would effectively allow me to progress quickly but not such a tedious schedule where i’ll be rocking designer eye bags under my eyes in my barely early 20s.

Ultimately my plan is to skate 2-3 times a week? I live in between 3-4 skating rinks, depending how far i’m willing to travel so accessibility is no problem. The closest is 5 minutes and the farthest is 30 minutes — I got lucky!

Since I am just getting back into skating after quitting for a few years, I kind of want to self-teach *cue groans* and practice on my own a few times before going the lessons route. Which i am also still debating on.

Of course I want to regain all my jumps and spins I fell off during my years away and I hear/read a private coach is best for that but I also feel like when I was younger I just progressed due to me getting jumps and spins, but skipped over perfecting all the basic moves.

I have scourged these forums and I have seen people say that long hours of practice can do more harm than good. I don’t mind skating multiple days a week as my class schedule until mid-June is Tues/Thurs 5-7 pm, W 11-2:30 pm & 6:45-9:45 pm then I’m off for 3 months for summer break before I transfer to a university (wahoo!!)