Tightness of lacing and normal resistance of tongue against ankle flexion? | Golden Skate

Tightness of lacing and normal resistance of tongue against ankle flexion?

WingedScapula

Rinkside
I am an adult beginner skater. When lacing my Jackson 452s, I've laced the first 3 hooks somewhat tight but loosened the last one to allow for enough freedom for my ankle to flex with minimal resistance from the tongue. Is this a correct goal? A consequence of this lacing is that my ankle feels like it does not have sufficient lateral support and my coach in group classes has noticed this. She suggested leaving the last hook undone but lacing the remaining 3 even tighter. I've found this to provide better lateral support but it still allows more lateral movement than seems acceptable (I'm referencing this https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3pPk5ojdIbg&t=54s). Is it time for better supporting skates or maybe I just haven't broken in my skates properly? I have skated with them ~50 hours.

Diana Delafield

Frequent flyer
Medalist
Country
Canada
I am an adult beginner skater. When lacing my Jackson 452s, I've laced the first 3 hooks somewhat tight but loosened the last one to allow for enough freedom for my ankle to flex with minimal resistance from the tongue. Is this a correct goal? A consequence of this lacing is that my ankle feels like it does not have sufficient lateral support and my coach in group classes has noticed this. She suggested leaving the last hook undone but lacing the remaining 3 even tighter. I've found this to provide better lateral support but it still allows more lateral movement than seems acceptable (I'm referencing this https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3pPk5ojdIbg&t=54s). Is it time for better supporting skates or maybe I just haven't broken in my skates properly? I have skated with them ~50 hours.