Adult Skaters - Do you ever get fed up with the way people act about it? | Golden Skate

Adult Skaters - Do you ever get fed up with the way people act about it?

mercybuckets

Rinkside
This isn't a technical question, but more venting and I guess looking for advice.

I'm an adult beginner (learning singles) who started figure skating when I was in university. I love it and I'm quite serious about it. I think I have realistic goals (testing, adult comps, etc) and I see myself skating for the rest of my life.

Unfortunately, my family and friends think I'm completely crazy. I feel like I'm constantly being told to grow up or that I'm never going to make the Olympics (as if I'm not aware of that lol) or that I'm wasting my time and money and it's very frustrating. Skating is expensive and I'll admit that taking the bus to the rink at 5am before work is not the most fun but I love skating and I wouldn't want to give it up. I try to tell myself that I don't care what other people think but my friends don't understand why I won't blow off ice time to hang out with them and last week my stepmom told me that no one would want to date someone so busy with a hobby.

Does anyone else have this problem? I have no intentions of quitting skating and I know that my family and friends are coming from a place of caring about me (mostly) but it's just too much sometimes. Any advice?

Arwen17

Final Flight
I mean, my friends and family may think I'm crazy, but they don't have a problem with me skating, it's my life and my choice after all.
And they have seen how much I have improved over the past 4 years because I make progress videos to show it. They know I love it, because I never shut up about it. I talk about international skaters and competitions all the time.