Heavy skater blade scratching | Golden Skate

Heavy skater blade scratching

Niverren

Spectator
TL; DR Heavy skater having problem with a blade feeling scratchy/unstable.

So I’ll try to keep this short, but I’m a 41yo total noob who just put ice skates on her feet for the very first time 2 months ago. Counting lessons and public skate, I’ve been on the ice a total of 16 times. I was professionally fitted and wanted the Jackson Debut Fusion but was instead put into the Freestyle Fusion (by my coach) when Jackson told her they could not get my size (9.5 wide) until July. The Freestyle come with the Aspire XP blade, which has been partially mounted.

I skated with them for the first time last Saturday and could barely move at all; the blades were unevenly set from the factory with my foot that supinates the most having the blade wayyy too far in the opposite direction. Coach took the skates, adjusted for supination but did not fully mount the blades. I skated Monday and yesterday better than I ever have and did some baby elements (rocking horse, backward swizzles) that I was never able to do in the rental skates.

Coach took the skates last night to fully mount the blades, but did not have the bag of screws that came with my skates and returned them to me still partially mounted.

Flash forward to today and I could barely skate at all. My right blade felt like it was dragging/scratching the entire time. But because I am so new, I have no idea what the actual problem was. I honestly believe I looked down and saw the right blade “shaking” on the ice, but it was probably just my leg shaking.