Holiday coach etiquette | Golden Skate

Holiday coach etiquette

bunnybarista

If I risk it all, could you break my fall?~
On the Ice
I know the holiday season is still several weeks away, but I like to plan ahead... what kinds of gifts are appropriate/nice to give to a coach for the holidays? This is my first time having a private coach and I'm not sure about the etiquette of it. As an adult skater, my coach and I have what I'd like to think of as a burgeoning friendship off-ice, but not close enough that we would exchange gifts as friends. But within a professional context, I would like to give some kind of a present. I've seen some suggestions of a cash bonus, perhaps equivalent to the price of one lesson, while others suggest practical gifts like food, wine, iTunes/Starbucks gift cards, gloves, etc. Would love to hear thoughts on this! :biggrin:

satine

v Yuki Ishikawa v
Record Breaker
In my experience, some people find gift exchanging to be a burden. Two of my coworkers refuse to even accept a gift card because they feel like they're obliged to give something in return, which can be understandably stressful. If you can ask other students who may have been with this coach last year for the holidays about their experience, that would be a great help. If you can't find any information out that way, I'd suggest starting with something small, but practical, as others have suggested to you. Pre-boxed gift sets are already flying off the shelves where I live. They are a good value, plus they have a variety of items for every taste, so I find them to generally be a safe bet :):thumbsup:

bunnybarista

On the Ice