Is a fitting neccessary? | Golden Skate

Is a fitting neccessary?

iceer

Spectator
Hi all.
I'm a beginner skater from a country where figure skating isn't very developed. We only have a few ice rinks, and skate shops are basically nonexistent. Almost everyone orders skates online. I'm thinking about buying new skates soon, as the ones I currently have aren't very supportive, and I tend to over-tighten them. I've already started doing waltz jumps and will probably start attempting Salchows soon as well.
It's not possible for me to get fitted in my country, let alone my city. I'm not really sure what I should do - order skates online or work something out and somehow get fitted elsewhere. Maybe when I go on vacation. Is it really crucial to get fitted, or will I do fine without it? I appreciate any advice.

Vladik

On the Ice
Hi all.
I'm a beginner skater from a country where figure skating isn't very developed. We only have a few ice rinks, and skate shops are basically nonexistent. Almost everyone orders skates online. I'm thinking about buying new skates soon, as the ones I currently have aren't very supportive, and I tend to over-tighten them. I've already started doing waltz jumps and will probably start attempting Salchows soon as well.
It's not possible for me to get fitted in my country, let alone my city. I'm not really sure what I should do - order skates online or work something out and somehow get fitted elsewhere. Maybe when I go on vacation. Is it really crucial to get fitted, or will I do fine without it? I appreciate any advice.
It’s definitely best to get fitted. You don’t want to be going on a whim for these kinds of things.
Sure, you can heavily research skates, and sort of get a rough idea of what might fit your foot or work well for you, but you really can’t be sure until you try.

Alternatively, places like Everglides do online fitting appointments, this might appeal to you.