Mariah Bell: "I'm still learning" | Golden Skate

Mariah Bell: "I'm still learning"

gsk8

Record Breaker
Country
United-States
USA’s Mariah Bell also improved her placement from last year, finishing fifth overall (185.84). The skater, who trains under Rafael Arutyunyan, feels she is still learning a great deal this season, but admits she is not quite ready for the Olympic team.
“I take this as an experience doing something under pressure so that I can prepare myself for the future when I am competing in the Olympics, since there is no more pressure than that,” said the 21-year-old. “I keep learning from my new coaching team and I’ve been really enjoying my life in California and enjoy working hard. I am proud of myself, although I had a few silly mistakes. I am really proud of what I did and the arena is so cool. In Taipei, I really have a good time and it’s an honor to represent Team USA and I can travel the world and do what I love. After the competition, I’ll go home and keep training, but I’m really excited to give back and get working the next season. I really want to develop my skating skills and the program.”

More...

It will be exciting to see how her jumps come along after spending more time with Arutyunyan.

TontoK

Hot Tonto
Record Breaker
Country
United-States
She's already made the biggest change she needed to make, and that's getting a new coaching situation.

I'm looking forward to seeing where this goes, and I wasn't interested in her at all a year ago.

el henry

Go have some cake. And come back with jollity.
Record Breaker
Country
United-States
She's already made the biggest change she needed to make, and that's getting a new coaching situation.

I'm looking forward to seeing where this goes, and I wasn't interested in her at all a year ago.

:scratch3:

Mariah has been at Team Raf for two years now. So if you weren’t interested in her last year, she had the same coaches then that she does now. ;)