Recommendations for first pair of skates? | Golden Skate

Recommendations for first pair of skates?

angielol6

Spectator
Hiii!!! I'm new to the figure skating world and I have just started group classes at my local rink. Once I finish this course (ISI pre-alpha) I plan to buy my first pair of skates. I am 19, 5'2 (~157cm), 140 lbs (63.5 kg). I would like to get to the point of doing jumps and I am a super fast learner as I am already doing some spins and hops.

I prefer a good amount of ankle support. I have a Greek foot shape and wide feet. I also have extremely high arches.

I am a college student so the price needs to be reasonable (under 200 preferably). Any recommendations are appreciated! My rink has a pro shop so I will be visiting while keeping in mind any recommendations! Thank you :)

silverlily1

On the Ice
I'm sorry, but I don't think anything in that price range is going to be the right fit for your body and skill level. You need a certain stiffness level in the boots for your skills and that increases when you weigh more than a child, because your weight affects how much your body can bend the boots. The softer, cheaper boots will degrade far too quickly, and I know firsthand what skating on the wrong boots can do - I broke two bones in my ankle due to lack of support, took a 10-year break from skating, and just bought new skates again due to a skate tech fitting me poorly a year ago and an increase in my skill level making that problem even worse.

I'm sure more experienced people will chime in soon, but I suspect you'll need something like a Jackson Freestyle ($350-400-ish). Maybe for Christmas ask for help towards a skate purchase?

Ic3Rabbit

Former Elite, now Pro. ⛸️
Record Breaker
Country
Olympics