Raise The Senior Ladies Age To 17 Please! | Page 6 | Golden Skate

Raise The Senior Ladies Age To 17 Please!

el henry

Go have some cake. And come back with jollity.
Record Breaker
Country
United-States

If anything, these youngsters bringing in a younger audience helps the sport grow and brings the average age viewer down, which is good. You don’t want the average age of a sports fan ti be increasing every year.

Link please. :). I have seen absolutely no evidence that younger athletes bring in younger fans, controlled for variables of country, sport, etc.

Also, age of majority in Eastern hemisphere countries: Japan: 18. South Korea: 20. (ETA: according to Google, I have no actual knowledge.)

In Western Hemisphere places like Moscow, (since some of Russia is in the Eastern Hemisphere), other places in Europe. North America, South America, it varies.

"Western" as a political construct is meaningless for me, because it is so variable and not agreed upon, so I use the actual geography for standards in the East and the West. :)

moonvine

All Hail Queen Gracie
Record Breaker
Country
United-States
But men grow more during 15 to 19 year period and suffer just as much if not more. There is a growing list of junior men who are doing complex content early, with a string of injuries, sometimes career ending. I am yet to see the thread advocating for Grassl’s health who skated for both juniors and seniors since age 15 or Malinin doing ahem… tricks and depriving those seasoned 18 and 20 yo’s from medals. Or worries that Kagiyama didn’t look like a man in his prime when he started seniors. How Gummenik grew a foot a year and how hard he falls?

Nobody seem to care about the low degree of success of junior men coming into seniors, where very, very few are successful for years on end at the expense of so many. They come with their junior ranking, then get locked out of senior competitions because senior guys have higher chance of prestige scoring and that’s that.