Should I keep trying? If so what can I do to improve | Golden Skate

Should I keep trying? If so what can I do to improve

plasmaful

Spectator
Hi! I’m sorry if this is a lot to answer, any guidance is appreciated :)

I started learning to figure skate at around the middle of last year, I went frequently until I had to stop because of a move. Im 15 now. I have autism so balance is one thing I’ve struggled with (it took me a few months to learn how to do a swizzle 😬) so I know Im a slow learner + starting and an older age gives me a disadvantage. My goals are small, eventually I want to be able to preform at small local competitions or maybe even do the basic testing. I’m also not able to go skating as much as I want to but I hope to start going more in the future!

My question is; Should I keep trying to progress or do you think I’ll be trying to achieve something impossible? I love figure skating so much so I don’t want to quit. But I want to know if I can do anything like I dream? And what can I do to practice balancing and beginning figure skating things off ice? Thank you so much :)

mskater93

Record Breaker
If you love it, keep trying. Just because progress is slow is no reason to ever quit. Everyone hits plateaus and they need to be worked through.

Off ice for balance - yoga really helps as does ballet. If you can do a class where an instructor can correct position, that is better

Ic3Rabbit

Former Elite, now Pro. ⛸️
Record Breaker
Country
Olympics
Hi! I’m sorry if this is a lot to answer, any guidance is appreciated :)