Does the fact that Michelle is without an OGM ruin her image/legacy? | Golden Skate

Does the fact that Michelle is without an OGM ruin her image/legacy?

Marrymeyunakim

On the Ice
Hi guys,

Recently I've been watching a lot of Michelle Kwan videos and I've found myself being constantly moved by how much emotion and expression she skated with. Her spirals, her jumps, her artistry have all been absolute love, and of course I needed to find out some more about her because I'm quite new to the figure skating scene. I know she's regarded as one of the best ever, what with 5 worlds, 9 US nationals and a billion other trophies in her cabinet.

However, I also noted that she never won the Olympics in two tries and I was wondering if this in any way tarnished her reputation in your eyes. For me, it doesn't because I feel such privilege when I watch her skate. But I could understand if people suggested that she didn't step up as much as she could have at the Olympics. Please this should not be a thread of arguing but rather discussion... in your eyes, does the fact that Michelle doesn't have an OGM tarnish her image? For me, I think that she'll remain the most loved figure skater ever, but that's just me.

Marrymeyunakim

On the Ice
Great point Sequinsgalore :D I guess she proves that OGM is not the be all and end-all of figure skating! I mean, look at Kurt Browning too

MKFSfan

Medalist
To sum it up in one word: NO.

Michelle is one of a few who's career transcends the OGM. Yes, an OGM would've completed the resume, but really, what more could it have done for her image/legacy? She's already the most decorated US skater, has made millions in endorsements, etc. She is very beloved and an icon of the sport.

Mafke

Medalist
To repeat something I've said many times before, I think she would have done more for OGM than OGM could have done for her. (same goes for Ito, Slutskaya Browning and maybe even Stojko).

Raatkirani

On the Ice