Gel discs for accessory navicular | Golden Skate

Gel discs for accessory navicular

Anya00

Rinkside
I have accessory navicular bones on both feet and I’ve been wearing the same boots since around 2019 (I skated on and off for a couple years for ~1 hr/week and then took a 2 year break so the boots are still pretty new). Right before I stopped 2 years ago, one of my accessory naviculars started hurting in the skate and would be sore for a couple days after, and now that I’ve just gotten back, this feels unsustainable. I’m assuming it’s because the padding is no longer as “fluffy” as when it was new.

I’ve gotten some gel discs ~2.5 inches in diameter and was wondering if it’s okay to just stick them over that part of my foot and skate that way. Will this affect my boots (Risport Electras) or my balance/skating? If not, is it something I’d have to do to both feet to keep myself balanced?

I know some people have the boots punched out but I’m worried the heel will become too loose since I’ve always had problems getting my heels locked. It took many trips to the skate tech to get my current heel lock so I’m really wary of messing with anything.

Elija

On the Ice
I don’t think the gel disks will work unfortunately. Been there, tried that. For me the only thing that works is getting the spot punched out. Absolutely cannot skate even for ten seconds otherwise. The only other option is to make a little donut to go around the bone out of a thin foam. You need to create space for the bone, not just put something against it, which I have found makes it even worse. I didn’t find punching the boots had any effect on the heel, and I’ve had four pairs of boots punched out like that now. It’s only a small round punch around the top lace hole area, but you can still pull the laces tight as normal.

thisismynewsport

Rinkside