Holes in lining of Jackson Debut boots | Golden Skate

Holes in lining of Jackson Debut boots

ice_wind_and_lyre

Spectator
Hi all,

I'm a long-time lurker and first-time poster with a question I haven't seen discussed before (or at least haven't been able to find any previous threads on).

Summary: I have holes in the lining of my year-old Jackson Debut boots. Does anyone have any idea why this happened and if there's anything I can do to prevent this happening to my next pair of boots?

I'm an adult beginner now in my 30s that started taking skating lessons for the first time in my life in January 2019. I'm 5'4" tall and about 125-130 lbs, and I'm doing a mix of synchro, singles (sal, toe, and beginning loop), and ice dance (currently working on pre-bronze). I'm based in a major metropolitan area in the U.S. with many rinks and a few figure skating pro shop options. I have been skating in a pair of split-width (A heel, wide forefoot) Jackson Debut skates for about 13 months, averaging a little over 3 hours per week (the last couple months have definitely been above average, 4-8 hours/week). Up until this week, I've absolutely loved my boots -- they've been really comfortable, maybe very slightly narrower than I would like in the toes (I think I'm getting some mild ingrown nails on my big toes), with a good heel lock (something I didn't have in my previous skates). My boots have "just worked" -- I haven't had to think about them at all -- and have helped me grow as a skater.