Post-Acceleration Balance | Golden Skate

Post-Acceleration Balance

lastaxiom

Spectator
Hi Everyone,

I have a question regarding balance once you're at full speed. I recently started learning to skate (32 years old haha). I've done a lot of research and am working on the basics (balance drills, posture, 1 leg gliding for balance, turning, cross-over, etc), I'm doing ankle strength training in work-outs. I went in to my local shop and made sure my skates are the correct size (made them smaller, and they fit tight, baked them, tie them correctly).

However, 1 problem I am having is once I have a good stride going and am at a good speed I feel unbalanced. I am not comfortable and feel as if I have to work extra hard (stay really low, arms out) to remain comfortable. Is there anything I can be doing (training, techniques?) to feel more balanced once I am gliding? Going straight once gliding is difficult.

Thanks so much.

WednesdayMarch

Nicer When Fed
Medalist
Country
United-Kingdom
It takes practice, you know! Staying low and arms out helps but there really is no substitute for practice.

Be aware that medication can also affect your balance.

Friday

Rinkside
Hi Everyone,

I have a question regarding balance once you're at full speed. I recently started learning to skate (32 years old haha). I've done a lot of research and am working on the basics (balance drills, posture, 1 leg gliding for balance, turning, cross-over, etc), I'm doing ankle strength training in work-outs. I went in to my local shop and made sure my skates are the correct size (made them smaller, and they fit tight, baked them, tie them correctly).