Huh?! How can you make that comparison? This was under 6.0 where jumps didn't get points. If Browning or Yagudin did the same thing under IJS where Oda had his Zayaks they absolutely would not have been credited accordingly. (And how do you know the judges didn't take into account the extra 3T? They didn't get 6.0's for technical merit so perhaps the judges did take that into account?)
And the rules are still the same. If someone does 4T+3T, and 4S+3T, then absolutely doing a 3A+3T would get no credit compared to a 3A+1T because of the rules that are in place.
Other times they specifically wrote the wording of a rule and the programming of the computer to penalize unintended rule violations harshly. And then sometimes they changed their minds and rewrote the rules and attendant programming to be more forgiving after all.
To me, the biggest problem was the "unintended" part. In Oda's famous case, or that of Michael Weiss given above, any skater who planned a 4T+3T as the first element (and there were lots of them) was behind the eight ball if he tripled the first jump.
That would be bad enough -- although the solution would be, "don't triple the first jump." Sometimes, though, the skater could not be sure how the technical panel called the element. Depending on the call -- which is not always within the control or knowledge of the skater in real time-- he either should or should not make this or that adjustment to the rest of the program.
This was certainly an unfair burden to put on the skater. I think the current rules are not bad, though.
I don’t think it’s an unfair burden. A skater should be able to reliably execute their content and if they are prone to tripling a quad or zayaking then they need to address this.
At 2005 Worlds, Irina Slutskaya executed three triple loops in her freeskate: 3Lz+3Lo combo, solo 3Lo, and later a 3Lo*+2Lo combo. The last 3Lo was asterisked and she earned points only for the 2Lo (similar to what had happened with Weiss's 3A+3T* a year and a half earlier).
That seemed to me and many others like a reasonable way to handle such an occurrence. But the ISU decided, on purpose, to rewrite the rule and the programming so that in such cases the whole element earned no points. Eventually they saw the error of their ways and changed the rule again a few years ago so that only the extra repeated jump was thrown out and not the rest of the combination.
Any golfer will have to adapt if they don't hit the ball in the middle of the fairway.