Whynot Tallinn? | Golden Skate

Whynot Tallinn?

CoyoteChris

Record Breaker
I am pretty new to being able to have the time to follow the JPG circuit, but I have been sick for 12 days so I have had lots of down time.
I would guess that beautiful Tallinn put in for the JPG stop as it would fill some hotel rooms and sell some meals, etc but I am surprised I am
not seeing more occasional fans in the stands. Estonia may not be a hotbed of figure skating but it has a 25 percent Russian population with many
retirees and Helsinki is a short boat ride away. The arena looks good with real seats and clear views to boot, unlike a certain Salt Lake City area venue I wont mention.
I would certainly attend if Tallinn were closer. Am I missing something here? Are there not a couple hundred occasional fans who would like to see
some great skating and a nice city? Or is it just the poor popularity of skating in general that is the fault?

Caustica

Final Flight
I guess not many figure skating fans would pay for transport & accommodation (and take holiday leave) to see a selection of juniors (not all the top ones).

Most of the fans who would actually travel to see a selection of juniors would, I suppose, be from Japan, but it is a long way from Japan to Estonia (expensive travel) and juniors don't usually have the most dedicated of fanbases.

Plus, today was a Thursday, so perhaps there will be more people on Friday evening and Saturday.

TBH, even senior GPs and Euros can have pretty empty audience stands sometimes (not as empty as juniors, but certainly nowhere close to sold out), and seniors are much more well known.

MsLiinaLii

Final Flight
I will explain you why Tallinn citizens are not really attending the event.
Even I, a big figure skating fan, am not able to attend all events.

1. Thursday, Friday - working days. Kids are at school, students are at unis, adults at work.