2019-20 Canadian Figure Skating | Page 50 | Golden Skate

2019-20 Canadian Figure Skating

jillredhand

Record Breaker
AHH...is Roman going to be the representative for men for this year's worlds now???...or is that not worthy of discussion???...

Well, we'll have to see what they announce? I guess they could delay a decision until after 4CC, but honestly, Roman medalled on the GP circuit so it's not like he's a total newbie without any track record. There's no reason not to send the champion.

I think Keegan's out of the running regardless, unless he straight up wins 4CC. I could maaaaybe see them going with Nam over Roman if Nam did really well at 4CC and Roman flopped. But even if Roman flops at 4CC, he's probably still plenty secure to go to Worlds.

rain

Record Breaker
This Worlds is going to be a bust but I think Gabby deserves a shot - even though that was probably one of her worst skates ever.

Sending Gabby to worlds is a terrible idea. It would be bad both for Canadian figure skating and for Gabby herself, both mentally and physically, since I don't see anything but another meltdown being the result. There is zero reason to believe anything else.

I think it's a foregone conclusion that no matter who they send, Canada will be down to 1 spot for ladies, and, let's be honest, we don't really need more than that at this juncture.

What we do need are more spots for men. Lot's of promising performers there. I hope they send Roman. He, Nam and Keegan all achieved similar results internationally this season, and when they faced each other, Roman came out on top.

kenboy123

On the Ice
In my opinion, I think they need to make it a rule that the national champion automatically goes...being a champion in your country needs to be rewarded...there is no reason Roman and Emily shouldn't go...

Tavi...

Record Breaker
I’m really sorry that Nam and Keegan didn’t have good skates tonight, but so happy for Roman! His skating is beautiful!

pearly

Record Breaker