Self teaching? | Golden Skate

Self teaching?

3dgy

Spectator
Hi so I’m new to figure skating, I might be starting my private lessons next week. But it seems that next month i have to move to Bali for a job. They just opened the first skating rink in Bali last year but I can’t find any information on lessons. I checked the website and it says lessons are unavailable or coming soon and they’re unable to give a certain date.

I’m thinking maybe i can learn some moves from youtube videos. Although, i know a lot of people are against it and it’s pretty reasonable. But i just don’t want to lose the skill i or not making progress during the time i wait for a coach (if they even find a coach to hire).

So what is the safest way to learn skills without a coach?

Girlbird

On the Ice
Hi so I’m new to figure skating, I might be starting my private lessons next week. But it seems that next month i have to move to Bali for a job. They just opened the first skating rink in Bali last year but I can’t find any information on lessons. I checked the website and it says lessons are unavailable or coming soon and they’re unable to give a certain date.

I’m thinking maybe i can learn some moves from youtube videos. Although, i know a lot of people are against it and it’s pretty reasonable. But i just don’t want to lose the skill i or not making progress during the time i wait for a coach (if they even find a coach to hire).

So what is the safest way to learn skills without a coach?
There is no safe way to learn skills without a coach. You should focus your time right now on building balance, strength and flexibility off-ice. Take dance classes. Do Pilates, yoga, and strength training (no need for fancy equipment, your own body will do).

mskater93

Record Breaker
Unless you can do a video lesson with your coach (and you understand EXACTLY how to do that), you should not self-teach. You will learn incorrect technique and spend a long time undoing it.

Vicki7

On the Ice