Skaters whose ballet training has paid off | Page 4 | Golden Skate

Skaters whose ballet training has paid off

dancing_tessa

Rinkside
ITA. I did years of ballet and modern dance and it didn't make me graceful, or flexible, or "artistic". It did improve my posture somewhat, though that may be credited to other things. I think with skaters, ballet allows you, maybe, to improve on what is already there. If someone is naturally graceful in the way he or she moves, ballet may help express it even more beautifully, by helping with posture, line and extension. But it is most definitely not a magic wand.

ITA. Just taking ballet lesson will not make you graceful or artistic because it is somewhat technical. I've been doing ballet since I was 5 years old and I don't know whether I was graceful or artistic before. But I honestly believe that ballet can help you with that. Of course, only if you have a versatile training schedule that includes more than just technical ballet lessons. You need the technical basis but you also need to feel it. If you just don't have "it" naturally, you may never become a ballet dancer but I don't think that it means you won't be able to improve to artitry and grace.

Bennett

Record Breaker
ITA. Just taking ballet lesson will not make you graceful or artistic because it is somewhat technical. I've been doing ballet since I was 5 years old and I don't know whether I was graceful or artistic before. But I honestly believe that ballet can help you with that. Of course, only if you have a versatile training schedule that includes more than just technical ballet lessons. You need the technical basis but you also need to feel it. If you just don't have "it" naturally, you may never become a ballet dancer but I don't think that it means you won't be able to improve to artitry and grace.