Transitioning from Rentals to Proper Skates | Golden Skate

Transitioning from Rentals to Proper Skates

jules56

Spectator
Hi! This is my first time posting on Golden Skate!

I am an adult skater in Australia who has just turned 19 and has just started skating lessons about 8 weeks ago having never formally skated before (but has done other sports and dancing recently in the past). I was picking up the basic skills (glides, swizzles, one foot etc) fairly quickly and developing a fair amount of speed and confidence on rentals so my coach suggested I get a pair of my own skates so I don’t learn any bad habits and progress through learn to skate as fast as possible so I can start learning jumps, spins etc for adult competitions (which is the goal).

I got fitted at the rink pro shop and they suggested Risports Electras (size 250) so I don’t need to upgrade as I learn more advance skills. I am average height, on the lighter side of average weight, and lean build.

I got the Electras and found skating in them very difficult compared to rentals which I read and was told is normal. However I have been skating in them for a week, and the biggest problem I am finding is that I am constantly favouring my inside edge (particularly on my left foot), struggling to stand square on the blades without holding the barrier and I can’t seem to do an outside edge, which in turn means gaining very little speed and glide.The blades on the boots seem very pronated inwards, seemly forcing me to do an inside edge all the time. So I questioned it back at the pro shop and they said that it is normal and blades are right for the boot shape and I should ask my coach for help regarding my edges.

So I thought I’d ask on here for advice as well on how to fix my edges and transitioning from rentals to proper skates as a beginner.

Any advice would be greatly appreciated thank you!

bruingrl

Rinkside