U.S. media continues to get the story wrong | Page 2 | Golden Skate

U.S. media continues to get the story wrong

Ven

Match Penalty
but here is a question I ponder: do people watch figure skating to be entertained or appreciate a technical and/or artistic brilliance? Does a skater have to expressly "reach out to the audience" in order to move the audience? Maybe it's because I studied cultural anthropology in college, but I do see some interesting cultural discourses in play when we discuss something like 6.0 v. CoP.

I think it's both. We like a skater to give us a performance that moves us emotionally, but we also like the "wow!" factor of eye popping technical brilliance.

Anyway, by its nature, figure skating has been and will always remain a niche sport. And i mean that in a very good way. To truly appreciate figure skating, it requires certain philosophical approach to aesthetics and some technical knowledge -- as such, I would say there is a high learning curve and entrance barrier, and that should be the case for a sport like this, which truly represents an unique combination of art & sports.

While I think your post is largely well thought out and I thank you for that, I have to disagree with this part. I don't think figure skating has to be a niche sport, and I don't think there are any barriers to entry to appreciate a performance. Literally anyone can walk off the street and see their first performance and make a qualitative judgement. I'm an introvert so I can sympathize with your desire for nuance and sophistication, but we have to be careful not to be too snobby. Art in its purest form is a physical representation of sincerity -- something all human beings can relate to -- and I definitely think figure skating can appeal to the masses without devolving into some crude, unpolished spectacle.