2023 Grand Prix de France Women's Free Skate | Page 25 | Golden Skate

2023 Grand Prix de France Women's Free Skate

Skating91

Medalist
Even in a sloppy competition like this, there aren't that many mistakes where you can't keep track. Especially with slow motion replay and judges scorecard available. I understand that you are a casual fan that doesn't want to take the time to go too deep. Nothing wrong with that. I'm no skating expert either. But the discrepancies between the judging and what I see are so frequent and blatant, even a layman can see it without too much effort. I go back to Janet Lynn, and believe me, this system is just as corrupt as the 6.0 system, probably more so.
Given the incredible technology that exists now compared to 20 years ago, there really are no excuses for officials to miss things like bad landings.

icewhite

Record Breaker
I was talking about a Grand Prix competition (with max 12 skaters involved, or only two groups of skaters, without break for the judges for the ice resurfacing), not about a competition of 24 skaters or more. With less skaters involved or better to say with less 'zamboni breaks', as statistically, this kind of discrepancy should'n be achievable that easy. And it's not like any other judge in the panel was close with American judge opinion about Gubanova skate and his CO score especially. The rest of the judges scores were 'closer' for that matter - all from 7 to 8.50 for the components and from 116 to 126 points for the overall free skate score.